Our first meeting was held on Wednesday, 18 October 1989. Two of the founder members are still members.

Meetings have been held in a number of locations; the first being the Oatlands Methodist Chapel Hall.

Very quickly it was necessary to move to larger premises.

The current venue of Harlow Community Centre has been used since 2006.

The Branch is part of The British Sugarcraft Guild which was started in 1981 by a group of enthusiastic cake decorators who had a love of the art of sugarcraft.  The British Sugarcraft Guild is a nationwide organisation

The emphasis at the Harrogate & District Branch is friendliness.  Visitors and new members, beginners or those more experienced, are always welcome.  An interest in cake decorating is all you need.

If you decide to join, as a member you will receive a quarterly, full colour, Newsletter published by BSG National Office, which contains many photographs.

Via the National website there is a message board for help and advice www.bsguk.org.

Public and Products Liability insurance is available to members at a very competitive rate.

Discounts are available from some retailers.

Some of the members are active in competitions across the country and have gained many awards.

The Branch is also active in competitions at Sugarcraft Exhibitions and has achieved 4 GOLD awards for its Branch Tables at Exhibitions in the last several years.  These can be seen scrolling on our home page.  Three were at the Sugarcraft North Exhibitions held alternate years at the Pavilions of Harrogate and one at the International Sugarcraft Exhibition in 2012 held in Telford.

Membership fees

Our year runs from 1st April to 31st March

and the cost of membership is £38.

This is made up of £24 to National Sugarcraft Guild and £14 to our Branch.

Committee Members

Ann Kent


Ann Kent is a Founder Member and her current role is “publicity”

lelsey photo.png

Lesley Dalton

Chair & Programme Secretary

Lesley Dalton is our Chairperson and Programme Secretary and has been a member of the club for more than 25 years.


Lorraine Stewart

Club Secretary

Lorraine Stewart is our club secretary and has been a valued member of the club for over 10 years is our social media officer.


Judy Banks

National Chair

Judy Banks was our Secretary and joined us in 1996 from the Maidstone Branch. She is now the national chair of the British Sugarcraft Guild.


Joan McShane


Joan McShane is our Treasurer and joined us from another branch near Cambridge in 2007.

Harrogate and District Sugarcraft Guiild